Notion AI Meeting Notes lives in your Notion workspace and sends audio to cloud sub-processors. Clearminutes keeps audio on your machine with no account and no uploads.
Two very different shapes: local-first vs in-workspace.
Notion AI Meeting Notes lives inside your Notion workspace: type /meet on any page in the desktop app, Notion captures mic and system audio, sends the audio to sub-processors (OpenAI, Anthropic, Fireworks, Baseten Labs, X.AI), and writes transcript, summary, and action items back into the page. Clearminutes is the opposite shape: audio stays on your machine, transcription runs locally, and a live transcript appears while you record. Notion needs a Business or Enterprise plan and a Notion account; Clearminutes has a free tier, a one-time Lifetime option, and no login. Many users will reasonably run both.
| Clearminuteslocal-first | Notion AI Meeting Notescloud-first | |
|---|---|---|
| Capture & privacy | ||
| Meeting bots | No | No |
| Audio stays on device | Yes | No (sent to sub-processors) |
| On-device transcription | Yes (on-device) | No (cloud sub-processors) |
| Local processing | Yes (on-device models) | No |
| Privacy network monitor | Yes (live, in-app) | No |
| No account required | Yes (local mode) | No (Notion account required) |
| Privacy | Audio never leaves device | Audio sent to OpenAI, Anthropic, Fireworks, Baseten, X.AI |
| Transcription | ||
| Live transcript while recording | Yes | Yes (real time, desktop) |
| AI & summaries | ||
| AI summaries | Yes (local or BYO keys) | Yes (cloud) |
| Local LLM for summaries | Yes (Gemma, built-in) | No |
| Bring-your-own cloud AI keys | Yes (Claude, Groq, OpenRouter) | No |
| Chat with meetings | Yes | Yes (within Notion) |
| Custom templates | Yes | Yes (built-in + custom instructions) |
| Transcription | ||
| Speaker identification | Yes (Pro) | Yes (English only, 1:1 best) |
| Workflow | ||
| Action items + decisions | Yes + TickTick sync (Pro) | Yes |
| Platform & performance | ||
| Cross-platform | macOS + Windows + Linux | Desktop (macOS 13+, Windows), browser, mobile |
| GPU acceleration | GPU-accelerated | N/A (cloud) |
| Audio & export | ||
| Audio file import | Yes (Pro) | Yes (AAC, M4A, MP3, WAV) |
| Audio mixing | Professional (auto-levelling) | Mic + system audio (desktop) |
| Capture & privacy | ||
| Works offline | Yes (local models) | No |
| Integrations | ||
| Integrations | TickTick, Outline, PDF | Notion Calendar, Notion workspace |
| CRM integrations | Not yet | Not specified |
| Claude Desktop MCP connector | No | No |
| Custom vocabulary | No | Not specified |
| Workflow | ||
| Team analytics | Not yet | Not specified |
| Video highlights | No | No |
| Video recording | No | No |
| Pricing | ||
| Free tier | Yes | Limited AI trial (Free/Plus) |
| Full features free | Generous free tier | No (Business or Enterprise required) |
| Pricing model | Free + Pro £12/mo + Lifetime £249 | Business £16.50/member/mo (annual) |
| Funding | Bootstrapped | VC-backed (Notion Labs Inc.) |
| Transcription | ||
| Language support | 6+ languages | 16 languages |
Local transcription for unlimited meetings, no bot, no cloud. Pro only if you want speaker ID and cross-device sync.
Last updated: 2026-06-22. Compared from each tool's public pricing and feature data (see sources), as of the last-updated date.
Sources: Notion AI Meeting Notes help page (2026-06-22), Notion pricing page (UK) (2026-06-22), Notion privacy practices page (2026-06-22), Notion AI meetings use-case page (2026-06-22).
Clearminutes is our own product; we've kept the comparison fair.